Home » Governing Council


The Council is responsible for the determination of the overall policy of the Institute. In particular, the Council is responsible for the financial and operational policies and programmes of the Institute and for ensuring their implementation.

The Council consists of twelve members as follows:

On the 14th of February, 2023, The Honorable Minister of State for Budget and National Planning, Prince Clem Agba inaugurated new members of the governing council for the institute.

The newly inaugurated membership of the Council of NISER includes Dr Emmanuel O. Imafidon (Chairman), Dr Hauwa V. Ibrahim, Professor Banji Oyelaran-Oyeyinka, Alhaji Sabiu Zakari, Alhaji Kalli Gazali, Professor Benedict N. Akanegbu and Felicia I. Onibon (Members).

Other members of the Council are: the Director of the Institute; Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Industries or his representative; Director (Macro) in the Ministry of Budget and National Planning; the Statistician-General, National Bureau of Statistics; and Director of Research, Central Bank of Nigeria.

How can we help you?

Contact us at the NISER office nearest to you or submit an inquiry online.

On behalf of NISER, I would like to welcome you to the institute’s website, which presents the institute’s profile, activities and output. NISER is an agency of the Federal Ministry of Finance, Budget & National Planning; and receives supervision specifically from the Ministry of Budget & National Planning, headed by the Honourable Minister of State.
Prof. Antonia Taiye Simbine
Do you have any questions or need more information?